The Mercy Seat.

Recently I went to see one of my most inspirational singers. None of you reading this will know of her I suspect. But let me introduce you to one of the greatest story tellers thru song that you will ever have the privilege to hear. I only wis I could buy you all a ticket to go and see her live, as with al theatre you can’t record this to give the same impact.

I have used some of her work before as the soundtrack to various pics, and even tried my hand at singing some of the covers she has opened my eyes to. A French/Irish singer, she has a unique presence, a sincerity that reaches into your soul and gently yanks it about and then pings you back to happy with a glint of her eye or a purr down the mic. Please do look her up. A fond singer of Jaques Brel, Nick Cave, Jonny Cash and the like. At this most recent gig she paid homage to Bowie and Cohen(listen to that cover here). It gives me chills to merely write about her. Imagine the state of my soggy cheeks on seeing her in person. ❤

They don’t make ’em like this very often I tells ya.

Check her webpage here and if perchance she is ever playin near you in the world… I promise you, you will NOT regret that ticket purchase.

dnd7now-nowdun

What I’m wearing:

Bra*Merlific* Adora Bra BLACK [MAITREYA] NEW! @ Suicide Dollz
Panties*Merlific* Adora Panties BLACK [MAITREYA]NEW! @ Suicide Dollz
Leg Harness’Nana – Miyoki Black Garters NEW! @ Suicide Dollz
Facestraps+XAnSA+ Face Straps – Habibi NEW! @ Suicide Dollz.
SkinEssences [Selena] #Medium02 [Lelutka Applier] NEW! @ The Crossroads (see below)
TattooSpeakeasy Tattoo – Grime NEW! available @ Winter Trend (see below)
Gun:BAMSE: Silent Assassin (GUN) – Golden
Heels – Arely Gun Slink Heels
CoatJunbug – The Ice Queen’s Mink Coat in Silver (Single Layer) – Size XS
Hair[KoKoLoReS] Hair – Blanche
Cigarette[NikotiN] Holder Cigarette – Princess (Mouth)

The most extraordinary version of Nick Cave’s Mercy Seat but the incomparable Camille O’Sullivan. 

“It began when they come took me from my home
And put me in Dead Row,
Of which I am nearly wholly innocent, you know.
And I’ll say it again
I.. am.. not.. afraid.. to.. die.
I began to warm and chill
To objects and their fields,
A ragged cup, a twisted mop
The face of Jesus in my soup
Those sinister dinner deals
The meal trolley’s wicked wheels
A hooked bone rising from my food
All things either good or ungood.
And the mercy seat is waiting
And I think my head is burning
And in a way I’m yearning
To be done with all this measuring of proof.
An eye for an eye
A tooth for a tooth
And anyhow I told the truth
And I’m not afraid to die.
Interpret signs and catalogue
A blackened room, a thickened fog.
The walls are bad. Black. Bottom kind.
They are sick breath at my hind
They are sick breath at my hind
They are sick breath at my hind
They are sick breath gathering at my hind
I hear stories from the chamber
How Christ was born into a manger
And like some ragged stranger
Died upon the cross
And might I say, it seems so fitting in its way
He was a carpenter by trade
Or at least that’s what I’m told
Like my good hand
tattooed E.V.I.L. across it’s brother’s fist
That filthy five! They did nothing to challenge or resist.
In Heaven His throne is made of gold
The ark of his Testament is stowed
A throne from which I’m told
All history does unfold.
Down here it’s made of wood and wire
And my body is on fire
And God is never far away.
Into the mercy seat I climb
My head is shaved, my head is wired
And like a moth that tries
To enter the bright eye
So I go shuffling out of life
Just to hide in death awhile
And anyway I never lied.
My kill-hand is called E.V.I.L.
Wears a wedding band that’s G.O.O.D.
‘Tis a long-suffering shackle
Collaring all that devil blood.”

Ad for Essences Selena skin avaibale @ The Crossroads.essences-selena-the-crossroads

Speakeasy Grime Tattoo NEW@ Winter Trend.31377054172_7519b0635e_o

One thought on “The Mercy Seat.

Leave a Reply

